RSS Feed

Three bags full……….of evil.

Posted on

Two questions arising from the following recent event in my town;

.
1.  Does each one of us have a latent capacity to inflict barbaric acts on another human being?

2.  Under what circumstances is it acceptable to tell the world about the sexual intimacies we have shared with past lovers?

*      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *

.

not a nice man
Sadly whenever we see a man tearfully pleading on television for the return of his missing wife chances are that he’s already bumped her off.
There was certainly never much doubt from the very beginning when this 70 year-old bastard staged his television debut with a smirk on his face.

The following facts emerged during the court process;

1.  He bashed and killed his 42 year-old Chinese second wife in their home before he went to bed and had a sleep.
2.  Next morning he brought their plastic wheelie bin inside the house and threw her body in it.
3.  Then he went down to the hardware store where he bought 60 litres of hydrochloric acid  using her credit card  before dissolving the body and pouring everything down the street drain in the dead of night.
4.  After that he toddled off to the Social Security office and attempted to have her Government payments redirected into his bank account   ‘for easier bookkeeping’.
5.  Occasionally he took time off from all this exertion to send text messages to his 35 year-old Thai mistress explaining that ‘I’m sorting out our problem’ …and that they could soon be married.

*      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *

None of the evil mentioned above surprises me. After all, he got his ideas from television and the movies.
What I do find extraordinarily repugnant however was his decision to justify these heinous acts by publicly revealing graphic details about the ‘unsatisfactory’ sex life he shared with his wife.
An additional hideous betrayal of trust.
.
He told the court and the news media about her apparently lacklustre and lethargic sexual performances which drove him to murder. His younger mistress on the other hand received his equivalent of an Olympic gold medal for her dexterity, athleticism and gymnastic flamboyance.
.
Words almost fail me.  Not being content with extinguishing the life of another person he then chose to deliberately and grotesquely defile her memory by providing all these sordid details in front of her grieving relatives gathered in the court’s public gallery.  For them the nightmare will never end.

.
*      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *
For what it’s worth, here are my thoughts on the questions above;

1.  I have no idea. It’s completely beyond my comprehension, but if someone did this to my daughter I suspect I’d  be quite capable of killing for retribution.

2.  None.  My intimate memories reside in a special secure vault somewhere within my consciousness.   No-one, no circumstance, and certainly no court of law will ever make me divulge a single one of them. They are inviolable. They are sacrosanct.  They are my strictly private record of those who cared enough to help me make them.

*      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *

About GOF

"Life is like a sewer. What you get out of it, depends upon what you put into it." (Tom Lehrer)

29 responses »

  1. I find it impossible to comprehend someone like that.

    Reply
    • I’d like to believe that no person can be completely evil , so it would be interesting to know his past history and whether there were any indicators that he might go on to do something horrendous like this.

      Reply
  2. All very well said, GOF. It is tempting to mumble “sociopath”, but I think that is wrong. Many perfectly sane are just plain bad apples. Arrogant, lazy, poor impulse control. People so often blame the mentally ill for shootings in the US, when in fact the mentally ill are much more likely to be victims than perpetrators.

    The best way to protect children from growing up to be victims is to raise them in a stable household, so that when these creeps come along, it won’t feel “familiar” as it would for someone who grows up in an unstable home. I know you and Mrs. GOF likely provided a very kind and stable home for all living there!

    Reply
    • Thank you for your thoughts on the subject Emmy. I’m just at a loss to understand violent behaviour of any sort, but especially that which is inflicted upon women by men. A few years ago the word ‘glassing’ came into our vocabulary in Australia when drunken louts inflicted facial injuries, often on their girlfriends, with beer glasses. I just find it all quite abhorrent. Perhaps these acts of violence are a result of poor parenting as you suggest…..I’m not an expert so I just don’t know. It’s just a very sad side to our ‘civilised’ society.

      Reply
  3. There will be a special circle of hell waiting just for him. It shall involve acid, and plastic tubs, and lots and lots of unsatisfactory sex.

    Reply
    • We can only hope so Kim…..it’s hard to think of any sort of punishment which would be sufficiently harsh. He’ll be doing it easy in our luxury jails unless some of the other inmates decide to hand out their own sort of justice.

      Reply
  4. For some reason I couldn’t get this post to load from Gmail, so followed the link on my blog. Just thought I’d mention it in case others are having similar problem.

    As regards the case above, I agree with all you say. There are others that come to mind that are similar disgraces to humanity.

    Reply
  5. Obviously, what he did wasn’t because she repeated burnt his supper or wouldn’t give special acts in private.

    While I changed my opinion of capital punishment someplace in my mid20s (to Disapprove), sometimes I hear myself think — or say — ‘Some people needs killing.’ He’s breathing my air and from all the way over yonder, too.

    Reply
    • I’m with you about capital punishment Lily, but cases like this one arise which make me reconsider. At least this one’s air will most likely remain in the southern hemisphere but you have plenty of pollutants in your half as well.

      Reply
      • Don’t we ever! And we only snuff out a few.

        Reply
        • Including quite a few innocents I believe……that’s what makes capital punishment such a vexed issue, but our man made full admissions about his crime…..not a shadow of doubt.

          Reply
          • That’s one reason why I changed my opinion. My main reason being I *never* believed in capital punishment unless I was willing to push a button, flip a switch, what have you. Not that I wanted to but if I was willing to agree with it as a practise, I felt if ‘drafted’ to be executioner, I could do it as the person was convicted.

            I don’t believe when it comes to taking somebody’s life, I’m better than they are. It’s something agreed upon by a society.

            When the day came that I no longer was willing to act as such, for my state (this is rhetorical, we don’t draft citizens to do this; it’s my reasoning), I declared myself against capital punishment. There’s a lot to my change but the basis was willing to take that on or unwilling? Unwilling to, was my response.

            Reply
            • That’s perfectly logical reasoning. The older I become, the less black and white issues like this become for me. A thought which just came to me and which may not stand up to ethical scrutiny in five minutes time……in cases like this where there is ABSOLUTELY no doubt that he killed their child, maybe the parents should be given the option of pushing the button or pulling the lever or whatever.

              Reply
              • I think in a society which accepts capital punishment, it may be a good option for closure … BUT I honestly believe people are good for the most part and I mean more than good. I think it would be more detrimental to most people in the long run and they’d regret having done. I don’t believe it would for all but most.

                I also worry that a govt sanctioning the family being acting executioner may lead as example others, where without 100% knowing the guilty party, may be prone to vigilante justice. Of course this rather cancels out my high opinion of Most. I think the ones that ‘would’ take over.

                I don’t know though and prefer to live in a non-capital punishment country (which I don’t).

                I think it’s worth adding that what I would do to convicts is worse than is allowed. I would ABSOLUTELY run work camps. Our streets would be well-kept and many necessities for the poor would be done by their labour. I mean, to me, you owe SOCIETY. You will pay something back. I don’t think being caged is the answer and I know prison is a place I don’t want to go but they’d be working as hard as a hillbilly baling hay in summer to earn their meals.

                Reply
                • I just knew it wouldn’t stand up to intelligent scrutiny.;-)
                  Your final paragraph really points in the right direction. When I was writing the story I was wondering what this man’s history entailed….surely he must have done many good things in his life, so why this tragic ending.
                  Prisons, as you suggest, should be places for reforming behaviours, and enabling and requiring inmates to repay their debt to society in a practical way . At present Australia prisons are just comfortable accommodations with everything provided except an open door to the outside .

                  I know all about the hay bales…..mid summer, 100F degrees in the shade and heaving square hay bales up onto a flatbed truck. Today they are mostly round bales handled entirely by machines. Wimps. 😉

                  Reply
  6. Ugh. I want to wipe that smirk off his face with a meat cleaver.

    Reply
  7. Unfortunately – Yes, I believe the capacity for evil is in everyone. Most of us, though, have a conscience. That smirking buffoon obviously doesn’t.

    And, no, there’s no excuse for besmirching the name/reputation of anyone due to the “unsatisfactoriness” (a new word, I guess) of sex … divulging those details.

    Reply
    • Thanks for your thoughts GOM….they are both matters I had given very little thought to before all the publicity arose surrounding this case.

      Reply
  8. Roughly 1 in a 100 people is a psychopath, GOF. That suggests, statistically, that we’ve all encountered some, because they’re everywhere. Most don’t kill. They simply live among us, quietly wrecking the lives of those around them. From the details you’ve provided it seems to me that this individual is a likely candidate. If true, he wouldn’t have any compunction against behaving this way. These individuals have no capacity for empathy, no capacity for remorse, no sense of humanity and see others as merely pawns in their own games. It’s a sad fact of life, but it’s a fact nonetheless. The positive side is that, reassuringly, almost 99 out of 100 people couldn’t behave the way this individual did.

    Reply
    • Thanks for providing that extraordinary statistic Lance. You also explained why I felt the compulsion to write about it…..it was not the actual crime but the absence of remorse and empathy that really had me scratching my head.
      I didn’t mention this in the story because it may be totally irrelevant, but I think he was born in Germany during WW2. Psychology is a very interesting and complex subject.

      Reply
      • It could perhaps be a factor. As I understand it, people can be born with a genetic disposition to become psychopaths. But if they have a trouble-free childhood then they tend to be okay. But if they have a troubled upbringing, then it’s likely to go the other way. I don’t imagine WW2 Germany was the easieist place to grow up, so perhaps it was a factor.

        Psychology is indeed a very interesting and fascinating subject.

        Reply
  9. I’m fine with thinking about this guy sitting in a room til he dies, with no ability to buy himself a new sex object, and no one buying his lies.
    (There’s a certain pleasure involved in, say, watching Charles Manson rot, year after year.)
    I have no idea where these monsters come from, or why.

    Reply
    • It really is difficult to think of a suitable punishment for the crime considering he’s 70 years old and probably won’t live for too long in prison. Thanks for reminding me of Manson…..I’d not kept up to date with his fate.
      I’m with you Lauowolf….I just can’t understand why people turn out like this.

      Reply
  10. I’m against Capital Punishment but before anyone thinks it’s a high moral position they should consider that I think it inflicts long term pain on the offender.

    I would make one change to the Aussie system though. Bastards like Julian Knight who performed the Hoddle Street murders should not be given any Press once they start playing the Bush Lawyer in prison. I wouldn’t even let him out when his term ends on the grounds of Public Safety. He has already shown us he is not right in the head and I don’t see why his rights to freedom trump our right to a safe environment.

    He can enjoy the company of as many social workers as he likes. But in his cell.

    Reply
    • Thanks Peter for your thoughts…..the entire question of punishment to fit various crimes is a vexed one. I am also against capital punishment on principle but when a crime like this is committed is does make me scratch my head to fthink of an appropriate punishment.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

