RSS Feed

Big Mama surveillance

Posted on

On the evening of the winter solstice last month, the Annual Conference of Small Creatures was held under the Ancient Wattle situated on top of Sacred Mountain on GOF’s Paradise.

In recent years, delegates had chosen to disrespectfully heap scorn upon the Divine Creator Bubbidge for his creationary ineptitude which left GOF’s Paradise with something the wise oracular dung beetle often referred to as ‘seasonal variation’.  The general consensus was that a far superior model would have included year-round constant temperatures between 20C and 28C, with a ten-minute zephyr of breeze on the hour every hour and a shower of rain each night between ten and eleven to compensate for the daily evaporation.

This year the mood of the gathering was more sombre in light of the rumour that GOF’s Paradise would come to an end in December 2012.

In order to cover all bases, the steering committee had commissioned renowned American artist and sculptor Reverend W. Wood-Pecker to carve an image of Creator Bubbidge into the trunk of the Ancient Wattle.
The life-sized work, precisely two and a half poofteenths high and three-eighths wide was unveiled at the beginning of the conference to the massed flapping of wings and thumping of thoraxes from the gathered devotees.

After the din had died down Conference carried a Motion of No Confidence in the management of GOF’s Paradise, particularly in regard to surveillance. It was noted that in recent times anything which moved, immediately had Mrs GOF’s macro camera lens shoved into it’s face.

The following evidence was tendered to Conference;

*      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *      *

Small spider on a dead gladioli flower

Garden spider hanging out on lemon grass

Blue fly peering at Mrs GOF over a taro leaf

Grasshopper nymph sunbaking on banana leaf

Moulting locust under choko leaves

Native bees harvesting hippeastrum flower nectar

Tiny insect on brachiaria grass flower head

About GOF

"Life is like a sewer. What you get out of it, depends upon what you put into it." (Tom Lehrer)

24 responses »

  1. Ooo, I love these pictures! Good job, Mrs. GOF!
    But, she didn’t take a pic of Bubbidge? The dewd needs to be immortalized….oh, silly me….he already is.

    Reply
    • Geez, that was a rapid response Lauri….I hardly had time for my usual
      quick early-morning scratch.
      Taking pictures of the Bubbidge Idol is prohibited, with fatal consequences for those who break the law.

      Reply
  2. You start to realise just how the world is changing when one is not even safe from covert surveillance in a place as isolated as GOFland.

    Please tell Mrs. GOF that I love her photos.

    Reply
  3. GOF, your report of the minutes of the Annual Conference of Small Creatures is delightful, and please tell Mrs. GOF that I think her photographs are high quality and very impressive macro images.

    Reply
  4. I confess I raced through my view of these photographs: I’m frankly an insectophobe (and an arachnophobe—I run to the other bathroom if I see a spider in the tub of our main bath). Please apologize to Mrs. GOF for me. She’s a talented photographer and I still think she should have her own photo blog. But I can’t even stand to look at the old casings of cicadas and other insects, even if there is no living bug around. I had a bad experience when I was a child, and while I’m more matter-of-fact in my dealings with the insect world (fly swatter, please!), I still can’t sit in the same room with even an itty bitty moth.

    Reply
    • My apologies for bringing up the old memories and making you feel uncomfortable HG.
      I’ll give you adequate warning next time before I post pictures like these.

      Reply
  5. You seem to have a large variety of small creatures up your way. Mrs GOF’s pictures are stunning. So glad the sun is now back on its way to us!

    Reply
    • There is no shortage of subjects, large or small, in the rainforest or in our garden for
      Mrs GOF’s photography…..or also in the vegetable garden chomping away at the silver beet leaves.

      Re the sun; I only discovered a couple of years ago just how slowly the sun gets it’s arse into reverse gear and moves south following the winter solstice……daylengths only increase by minuscule amounts until August. (It occurs to me that this explanation might be inadequate for serious students of astronomy and the universe) 🙂

      Reply
  6. Awesome! I especially love the grasshopper nymph. And St Andrews Cross spiders make me all homesick, they’re definitely one of my favorites.

    Reply
    • Thank you LOM….it was your initial advice and encouragement which prepared her for the photography hobby….there is never a day when she doesn’t wander around the garden with camera in hand.

      Reply
  7. These are some awesome shots. I like the one peeping at Mrs GOF best though, has character, that one!

    Reply
    • I love the peeping bug too. Have you seen the Minuscule series on TV…..or as I’ve discovered just now on Youtube? It is a superb animation series, produced I think in France featuring insects and other bugs.

      Reply
  8. OMGoodness, bugs, BUGS… EVERYWHERE!

    I’m feeling itchy.

    Reply
    • I feel itchy for half of my life….be it caused by ticks or leeches…one or the other seem to look upon me as a mobile food source.

      Reply
  9. I’m not insane about most bugs but I absolutely love the garden spider. I can tell Mrs. GOF has great respect for these critters the way she photographed them.

    Reply
    • Thanks Amelie…..Mrs GOF spends many hours each week, camera in hand, in pursuit of what she calls her “loyal subjects”. 🙂

      Reply
  10. These pics are crazy. So cool.

    Reply
  11. Oooh – what a lovely lot of bugs you have! Is it insensitive to ask if you spray at all? The photos are all so good it’s hard to pick a favourite, but I think I like the Grasshopper nymph best followed by the native bees. The undressing locust is cool….

    Reply
    • Thanks Emjay. Our garden and surrounds are so big we don’t spray anything…it would actually be quite pointless because as soon as we exterminated one lot, a replacement batch would move in from the rainforest the next day. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

