RSS Feed

Dirty rotten planks

Posted on

This is a shameful piece of cross-promotional nepotism.

Nevertheless, I should tread very carefully because I am not a member of Globet's favourite gender at the moment.

It is probably fortunate that I once philosophically inoculated her against precisely this sort of affliction.  
Back in Grade 8, when I first caught her checking out some blonde-haired juvenile Adonis, I took her aside and presented her with ;

GOF's Law #1 for Daughters;

"All men are bastards.  Don't have anything to do with them."

Now this little seed of Goffish wisdom was apparently sown upon infertile ground and it's first little growth shoot was killed off by the subversive herbicide of Mrs GOF whose main concern in life is to own grandchildren.

I think Globet is turning back towards my point of view.
With a vengeance.  And poise.  And dignity.
And expressive colourful vocabulary.      I'm proud of my Inga.

But it is time for me to announce GOF's Law #2 for Daughters;

"There are exceptions to Law #1.  Rare, but worthwhile.
Even so, they still need some supervised probation to make sure that they are not tempted to graze outside the home paddock."

Globet's latest justification for GOF's Law #1  is here

I'm sure she deserves better advice than mine.

Read and post comments

About GOF

"Life is like a sewer. What you get out of it, depends upon what you put into it." (Tom Lehrer)

10 responses »

  1. Obligatory fatherly advice.
    "Supervised probation" is good, neutering is better (this is my late teens early 20's self speaking….don't mind me).

    Reply
  2. "Supervised probation" is good, neutering is better (this is my late teens early 20's self speaking….don't mind me).You're probably right Emmi. Your qualifications to give advice are better than mine πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Haa, not really, growing up with a single mom didn't give me a great idea of what a "normal" family was like – but having a feminist sister 9+ years older than me gave me a unique perspective. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  4. Well….I have a son who was raised in a household of women, where he was subjected to many a lecture beginning with, "Don't you ever treat your wife or girlfriend like that! Never [fill in your favorite male vice here]!" Now I feel a little bad about it, because there have been times where he's been treated like a doormat by young women, and he's too much of a gentleman to correct them. I've told him it's okay to tell them how he feels, but he always groans, "Mom, I don't want to talk about it." Which sounds rather traditional male to me.

    Reply
  5. but having a feminist sister 9+ years older than me gave me a unique perspective. πŸ˜‰ Much more practical and useful than the fairy-tale rubbish I grew up with. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. But that age where one is still seeking a soulmate is just agony. I'm glad I'm past it, and have found better solace in a book and a glass of wine. I absolutely agree with you H.G. The path of finding a suitable mate is littered with so many unexpected obstacles that it's a miracle anyone comes through it unscathed.I think your son was given a head start being raised in a "household of women".I went out into the world with absolutely zero knowledge of how to interact with girls. Unfortunately it is also probably true that there are just as many women out there prepared to take advantage of men as there is vice versa.

    Reply
  7. obviously you used your own wicked ways as evidence for your argument?

    Reply
  8. Can you come lecture my Ninjettes and bring Globet along please? She will be the clincher for me. I like her style. In fact, she frightens me so much that I'd say the SAS should be calling her up soon to sign-on for a tour to 'Stan's Place!

    Reply
  9. obviously you used your own wicked ways as evidence for your argument? I always research all avenues available to me FD.

    Reply
  10. Can you come lecture my Ninjettes and bring Globet along please?Globet would be FAR better than me Ninja. She has been counselling her peers since high school and she tends not to put up with much crap from anyone….including me. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

