RSS Feed

One wet season day; snapshots

Posted on

Rainfall at GOF's Place

March 2010                   838mm        (34 inches)

Progressive 2010       2180mm        (88 inches)

I'm happy to round that off to an average of one inch per day, for the entire year so far.

There is still no-where else in the world I would rather live.

However, as we have not seen the sun for 20 days in a row, my solar batteries are now
depleted.  I will resume blogging when the weather improves.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About GOF

"Life is like a sewer. What you get out of it, depends upon what you put into it." (Tom Lehrer)

12 responses »

  1. We don't get 34 inches in a year, much less the 88. I suppose that's why it's called a 'rain forest.'

    Reply
  2. I suppose that's why it's called a 'rain forest.' Yep, and it's a very soggy rainforest at the moment. There is a waterfall about 5 miles away as the crow flies, and we can hear it roaring.

    Reply
  3. That's a lot of rain, GOF. That would just about fill our dams here which have reached the dizzy heights of 20% after 15 inches of rain. The broms are no doubt lapping it up.

    Reply
  4. I'll offer up a JW libation to the sun gods for you. All your Vox fans need their daily GOF fix.

    Reply
  5. I don't think I could go that long without sunshine. Hope you get sun soon so you can blog. It just won't be the same around here without your humor and point of view 🙂

    Reply
  6. 20% after 15 inches of rain. I thought you would have had full dams like Brisbane …that's a little disappointing…..wet to your East, wet to the West, but nothing at your place…..maybe you should save some JW tomorrow night for the rain gods 🙂

    Reply
  7. I don't think I could go that long without sunshine.At least once a week we have to drive 20 miles to the west, or down to the coast to see brighter weather….it is mostly just a localised weather pattern…..we live in one of the wettest places in Australia.

    Reply
  8. Have you always lived in that area? I am wondering if one would need to grow up there to be able to bear it, kind of like the months of darkness in Alaska.

    Reply
  9. Have you always lived in that area? No….I came from the Meditteranean climate of southern Australia….but my New Guinea experience prepared me for the 25 years we have spent here.

    Reply
  10. Wow, that sounds like quite a change. Do you ever consider going back to the Mediterranean climate?

    Reply
  11. 20 days? Aagh! That is hard, hang in there. Our state has massive flooding now, and as I was telling LOM, I know about the mold, damaged possessions, slushy rugs, frustration, it's such a drag on the psyche.
    I'll send your home some dry, happy sunshine vibes. xoxo

    Reply
  12. Our annual average rainfall is 39-40 inches… the cool thing is it's fairly evenly distributed to just over 3 inches every month. I wouldn't like that mould and damp clothing at all. 20 days without sunshine is not such a big thing to me (weird I know) – I try to stay out of the sun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

