RSS Feed

Bullseye

Posted on

There is no Australian I admire more than entrepreneur, philanthropist and perennial straight-shooter Dick Smith.

This, is his assessment of our Government's plan to increase Australia's population from it's current 22 million to 35 million by the year 2050, and the stupidity of unregulated population growth.


"Plans to massively boost Australia's population are a bad idea and must be stopped, even if that means limiting women to 2 babies."

"No-one is allowed to talk about it, but I am."

"The Government wants to increase the population because it means more young taxpayers to pay the rising health and pension costs of the ageing population."

Talk doesn't come much straighter than that.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

About GOF

"Life is like a sewer. What you get out of it, depends upon what you put into it." (Tom Lehrer)

23 responses »

  1. Raise the population? There are 300 million or so of us in the US, and I'm beginning to think "thinning the herd" is a pretty good idea. When a country – any country – gets too large (population wise) to be able to consistently feed itself through its own agricultural enterprises, it is too big.

    Reply
  2. I don't suppose he would like me so very much since I have six children. Two of the six are adopted. It has not been easy but worthwhile things rarely are!

    Reply
  3. The human population of the world has doubled in our lifetime, Gof, (primarily due to abundant energy from oil).Things are not going to continue the same way.Which means that people who are inclined to ignore this issue are soon going to have to change their minds.

    Reply
  4. You are absolutely right, and continuing food supply was apparently the main driver behind his statement.We are reaching the frightening position here where we will soon be relying on imported food…..and much of it from China.

    Reply
  5. I don't suppose he would like me so very much since I have six children. Dick Smith is a man of great compassion and a voice for us common people against injustice. I am sure he would admire your commitment to family and your selflessness in adopting. Not only that, if you were in a position of desperate need and he found out, then he would give you a helping hand.What he is intolerant of is bureaucratic stupidity….as is this idea of purposely increasing our population by 50% when it is obvious that the brakes need to be applied if our planet is to remain in good health.Australian women are currently paid cash to have more babies.!

    Reply
  6. Which means that people who are inclined to ignore this issue are soon going to have to change their minds. So true k9…..if they don't change their minds themselves then Mother Nature, one way or another, will eventually do it for them.

    Reply
  7. Thank you, GOF. Kind words. He sounds like quite a fellow. I had no idea that they paid women to have babies. Amazing.

    Reply
  8. I had no idea that they paid women to have babies. Amazing. It used to be $5000 paid as a lump sum, and often it was spent on "essential" items like plasma screen TV's…..so now it is apparently only handed out in instalments rather than a lump sum.

    Reply
  9. Brings to mind what might be a normal conversation in their homes, "Honey, we really need a new TV…..time to have another child!!" Yikes.

    Reply
  10. I thought I was ahead of Dick Smith?
    Son has been converted by Dick Smith and has been arguing with me about it for the last two days… I can understand his premise, but there are also economies of scale to consider. What if we took more refugees ? That is just sharing the globe.

    Reply
  11. I wish someone in the UK would have the balls to stand up and say that.

    Reply
  12. Apparently having more babies is preferable to letting skilled migrants into the country, and attracts more votes – average Aussie Joes don't want immigrants coming in and 'stealing our jobs and diluting our culture'. Patriotism really shits me sometimes. One planet, one people.
    Pass me a joint.

    Reply
  13. The French used to do this — can't say it worked out so well for them. They also let open wide the immigration gates to former colonies, which seemed fair to my young mind. "We trampled you, now come back and fill our ghettos."Oh, wait. Doesn't sound like that good of an idea after all…If the Australian Government wants a fully-grown and not-so-large, non-reproducing female to add to its collection (once I'm dead, I'm dead — won't take up too much space), my company isn't improving. If it fails, I'll have to start walking your way.

    Reply
  14. It's not just the food needed to sustain us … it's the water to sustain both people and agriculture. Where's all the water going to come from?

    Reply
  15. I thought I was ahead of Dick Smith?You were slightly ahead, but I had to factor in Dick hovering above you in his chopper. Sorry…it was a complicated mathematical determination ๐Ÿ™‚ What if we took more refugees ? That is just sharing the globe.I don't have a problem with that at all…refugees/immigration to a level making up numbers for those women who choose to have less than 2 children. Draconian maybe, but a line needs to be drawn somewhere. Why not make it 25 million giving us time to construct a management strategy to maintain that figure.We should not be responsible to forever take refugees from those countries which take no action to limit their own populations.

    Reply
  16. I wish someone in the UK would have the balls to stand up and say that. If enough people start talking about it, a spokesperson will eventually emerge.

    Reply
  17. Patriotism really shits me sometimes.It certainly has many far-from-redeeming features. The "diluting our culture" argument is a little rich. Wonder how aboriginal Australians feel about that.Pass me a joint. We only slaughtered the lamb yesterday and you are a little far away. Would you like me to post a leg to you?

    Reply
  18. Thanks m-t for reminding me of the experience in France.I'll have to start walking your way.I think we recently determined the limitations of that means of travel for you. We will buy you an air ticket when the time comes ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  19. Where's all the water going to come from? Apart from GOM's glaciers, we will probably be forced to build desalination plants. Then everyone will have to pay the real price of water.

    Reply
  20. I hope the spokesperson emerges soon. This along with habitat loss has been the most underappreciated crisis of modern times. The governments should instead remind people daily that less humans = more ice cream to go around.

    Reply
  21. I used to make empty threats that I was going to get on my broom and fly somewhere ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

