RSS Feed

Cooking with Gof; Day 2 of 7

Posted on

Today was not my finest cordon bleu performance.

Occasionally circumstances conspire against even the most gastronomically gifted.

Conflagratus, the sous-chef for Julius Caesar in 46BC once had a diei horribilis in the kitchen which almost caused him to lose his mind.  In the event it mattered not, for it, along with the remainder of his head went rolling off the chopping block into historical oblivion.

To cut a long smoky story short, some items of my food caught fire and burned a hole in the gas pipe which made my oven explode.

But worry not, I am a handyman and will repair the stove and have this whole educational show back on the road again tomorrow.

Meantime please feel free to review the heavy work load we tackled on Day One.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

About GOF

"Life is like a sewer. What you get out of it, depends upon what you put into it." (Tom Lehrer)

12 responses »

  1. Ah.Right.Well, this is the second-best food post ever!If you haven't set a fire in the kitchen, you haven't been cooking, yeah?

    Reply
  2. Oh Lord – don't tell Mrs GOF! She needs to enjoy her holiday and not be reminded that all her fears were real!
    Can I remind you of lesson number one – don't leave the kitchen when things are cooking. Uncle did so and burnt down his kitchen…

    Reply
  3. Well, this is the second-best food post ever!OK..so now I've got to smarten up my act….at least I was able to enjoy my 15 minutes of fame as number one :-)If you haven't set a fire in the kitchen, you haven't been cooking, yeah?I'll explain that to Mrs GOF……and that m-t says my kitchen behaviour is normal (more or less;-)

    Reply
  4. Oh Lord – don't tell Mrs GOF!I won't tell her if you don't. She's probably working on her tan sunbathing on the shores of Lake Superior at the moment so she'll never find out.:-)I'll keep Uncle of FD's misfortune in mind in future.Oh well….better get back to repairing that gas leak.

    Reply
  5. It's a darn long way to Maccas so you are going to have to fix it, GOF.But here's a tip. I have been known to have wheatbix for lunch when the CFO is away. I probably wouldn't heat the milk on the stove though. At least not before testing the kitchen with a canary.

    Reply
  6. But here's a tip. I have been known to have wheatbix for lunch when the CFO is away.I am having them about 3 times a day Pete, but mixed with more nutritious things (like corn flakes;-)

    Reply
  7. [This is soooo cool]
    Last summer, one night home by myself, I tried to make meringue cookies even though we had no mixer. I thought the blender would make them thick enough. They were runny, almost liquid but I optimistically put them in the oven anyway, and like a genius, left the room – only to return to a nice glowing light in the oven. I called the fire department and they had a good laugh over the mess I'd have to clean up.

    Reply
  8. Thanks Emmi….nice story.We once visited an old fella who had just recently bought himself a microwave oven for the first time. He had a wonderful story about how he had prepared a whole chicken, filled it up with stuffing and had it explode in the oven. As I don't own a microwave I have no idea as to why this should have happened but it was a fantastic story he told.

    Reply
  9. Mmmmm …… what can I say – it looked so promising the first day. My brother left chips in a fryer and wandered off to do whatever it is men leave the kitchen for; only to come back and find all the overhead cupboards on fire. Worse – the fire extinguisher was old and didn't work. A lot of wet towels and explaining were needed when mum got home.

    Reply
  10. whatever it is men leave the kitchen forWe only leave it for really important things Emjay…..like finding out details of the last wicket that fell in our test match against the West Indies.:-)

    Reply
  11. You never want to do everything perfectly, otherwise when your wife returned home she'd be crestfallen that you did a great job without her.

    Reply
  12. she'd be crestfallen that you did a great job without her. She unfortunately knows I have zero culinary skills, but I can survive with adequate nutrition for 5 weeks just by throwing all the vegetables and meat into one pot and boiling the hell out of it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

