RSS Feed

Imaginary friends

Posted on

On my mother's side of the GOF family I do not know any living relatives, and there is only one older cousin on my dad's side.  
She has a large clutch of children and grandchildren, most of them living within downwind spitting distance of her in Victoria.

Whenever she has an advance warning of my visit she gives them all  a cautionary warning about the black sheep of the family who, whilst still a teenager, nicked off and ran away to New Guinea, and
"if any of you lot choose a similarly rebellious attitude you will also end up living a life of squalor in some North Queensland jungle"

Cousin Liz has memories about me which pre-date my own memories about me.

Apparently in 1951 alongside the country road between Castlemaine and Daylesford there were three ramshackle unoccupied cottages.
Relics from the 1850's gold rush.
Liz's fanciful story relates that I had an imaginary friend living in one of the old houses.  His name was Uk.  Uk apparently had a very productive and interesting life, and my stories about him often entertained my parents during the one hour drive between the two towns.

As that great Prince of Pontification would have it;

"The best predictor of future behaviour, is past behaviour."

Yes Dr Phil, you nailed it.  
I indeed have had a couple of imaginary friends since then, and I would not have wished for it to be otherwise.

 
 

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

About GOF

"Life is like a sewer. What you get out of it, depends upon what you put into it." (Tom Lehrer)

16 responses »

  1. I notice that all your adult imaginary friends are female, GOF. That is an amazing coincidence. I would be grateful to know your thoughts on why this is so. I have my own theory on the reasons for this phenomenon, but I dare not state them here, as I believe this is a family friendly site…

    Reply
  2. Wow. Is it common for people to have the same imaginery friend?I thought Elle was mine.

    Reply
  3. I'd love to hear of some of the stories of the adventures with your current imaginary friends, GOF. Ahem. 😉

    Reply
  4. Also, I notice that your imaginary friends all seem to be very real these days. Being the snoot I am, I need to point out that technically they're imaginary friendships.

    Reply
  5. I notice that all your adult imaginary friends are female, GOF.It is just a statistical coincidence Snowy. Statisticians have all sorts of fancy formulae for explaining anomalies such as this……I know this is what you were about to explain to me if this was not such a family oriented site…..the kiddies just would not understand it all.

    Reply
  6. I thought Elle was mine.Pete, Little Odd Me is looking for some stories…….seems like we might be able to give her more than she bargained for 🙂

    Reply
  7. I'd love to hear of some of the stories I have sent to you (via private message) a 4 gigabyte document giving you a brief outline.I do have a DVD and audio tape available for purchase simply by phoning 1800GOFBS :-)I need to point out that technically they're imaginary friendships.
    Don't friendships need to have the active participation of TWO?Mine seem to be deficient to the tune of ONE.

    Reply
  8. LOL…. when I was a teenager all my imaginary friends were gorgeous male movie or rock stars …… I think they probably hung out with your imaginary friends.

    Reply
  9. when I was a teenager all my imaginary friends were gorgeous male movie or rock stars …… I think they probably hung out with your imaginary friends. Details Emjay….where's the details :-)Hope you are enjoying your holiday.

    Reply
  10. Yes, but in your imagination, they do have the participation of two, yes?
    I called the number, and I must say that I found your price of $299.99 a little offensive.
    … and excuse me? I don't think you could ever give me more than I bargained for in the imagination department. Firstly, I think I know you too well. Secondly, well I've had some pretty extreme bargains already in life. 😛
    (puts on fake tof accent) So Sah, I hereby call your bluff. I will meet your tawdry $299.99, and raise you another …. hang on, where'd the poker game go?
    *blinks*

    Reply
  11. I called the number, and I must say that I found your price of $299.99 a little offensive. Offensive? Do you know what these girls cost? Two of them I had to fly out to Australia after Wimbledon before they went on to the next tennis tournament and one had to break her contract shooting Dr Who episodes.Yes, but in your imagination, they do have the participation of two, yes?I need to talk to my lawyer first. I don't think you could ever give me more than I bargained forI was just trying to make Pete feel good about himself….he has this fantasy "I thought Elle was mine"… well let's go back through the blogs and find out who belongs to whom. Who has got an "Elle tag" and who hasn't eh? Eh? 🙂

    Reply
  12. It's obvious that science needs to come to the rescue.
    They can't both be the same Elle if you both possess her! Ergo, we should grab both your fantasy Elles and put them in a suitable combat arena (such as a shallow vat of jelly) and have them duke it out until only one remains. Surely the most substantial imaginary friend shall win! 😛

    Reply
  13. It's obvious that science needs to come to the rescue.Sadly this blog is beyond rescue by science or any other force in the universe.I could become convinced that jelly wrestling might be an alternative forum for the resolution of world disputes. It would, at the very least make for more interesting television.

    Reply
  14. So, was it Uk doing all the things that got you into trouble as a wee GOF?

    Reply
  15. The next time I have to front court, I am going to bring Uk's devious influences on me as a child into my defence.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

