RSS Feed

The sin bin

Posted on

The game of Rugby League in Australia some years ago instituted the "sin bin". 
An off-field cubicle where players could be temporarily sent by the referee if they were adjudged to have seriously violated the rules of the game.

As umpire of my own life I also have a more notional sin bin.
 
It is a little place where I relegate for varying periods of time all the family, friends, relatives, acquaintances and businessmen who breach whatever codes of conduct I choose to have in place at any given time.

Sometimes, after I have done something really stupid, I even put myself in the sin bin to consider the gravitas of my actions.

It is however a benevolent sin bin, where the incarcerated, through a lengthy process of repentence, improved behaviour or generous bribery can gradually claw their way up the inside of the bin and eventually launch themselves back out onto my field of play.

Seems lately that I might have been interpreting my rules of life a little too fiercely.

More players are going into the bin than come out of it.

I suspect it might have degenerated into a seething hotbed of iniquity, wickedness and debauchery.

Please excuse me while I go take a little peek, I'll be back in just five seconds……..trust me…….count em……..

 

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

About GOF

"Life is like a sewer. What you get out of it, depends upon what you put into it." (Tom Lehrer)

16 responses »

  1. Gotta have those rules in the rough game of rugby! I played lacrosse, checking was fun and legal.
    I hope your sin was worth the punishment. 😀

    Reply
  2. Lacrosse?

    Isn't that the game where you are free to punish sinners onfield with very large sticks?
    Now there's an idea…..if I can just find a source of lacrosse sticks/racquets in Australia.

    Reply
  3. Yes! Although it's hard to be aggressive sometimes because you have that dumb rule where you have to swing the basket back and forth to keep the ball from falling out. Otherwise it's more fun than a barrel of monkeys.
    I've never tried rugby though, that sounds fun too.

    Reply
  4. A referee consigning himself to the sinbin. I like it. I can think of a few cricket umpires that could do with a stint there as well. And politicians. Trouble is there'd be no-one left in parliament at times, actually most of the time…

    Reply
  5. Oh dear, what have you done now?

    Reply
  6. I've never tried rugby though, that sounds fun too.You need to bulk up to 20 stone first Emmi and dumb down the intelligence a whole lot. 🙂

    Reply
  7. Tony and his budgie smugglers might create a whole lot of havok in your sin bin Snowy 🙂

    Reply
  8. Oh dear, what have you done now? Please don't interrupt me right now LOM…..I'm in the middle of research.There will be a big blogging project coming up next week 🙂

    Reply
  9. Tony and his budgie smugglers might create a whole lot of havok in your sin bin Snowy 🙂 You really know how to frighten an old man, don't you, GOF…

    Reply
  10. You really know how to frighten an old man, don't you, GOF…Well I know it certainly frightens me….in lots of ways 🙂

    Reply
  11. When my Mum was alive she had her own version of the sin bin in the smallest room in the house.Whenever we went to see her we would visit the loo to see if there had been any changes to the Year planner where births, deaths and marriages were dutifully recorded.It was a graduated system. If you were out of favour you would find yourself crossed out in grey pencil. This was so you could be easily restored after serving time. The more serious infringements were handled with a thick layer of correctit. I don't remember anyone ever making it back from the whiteout list.Thanks for this wonderful reminder.

    Reply
  12. I don't remember anyone ever making it back from the whiteout list. That is a fantastic story. I have got a long way to go perfecting my system and your Mum could surely have taught me how to do it properly.Now, where can I find 200 litres of whiteout? 🙂

    Reply
  13. She also had another system running for the dispersal of her goods after she jumped off the twig.Post it notes on the bottom of furmiture items.

    Reply
  14. Post it notes on the bottom of furmiture items.My Mum did the same when she was in the RSL retirement unit in Geelong.Every single item of value on shelves and everywhere had a note with who it was to go to after she died. I never did see my share because I was living a long way away……by the time I got there other rellies had thought it was "first in best dressed".I learned a lot about human nature then. 🙂

    Reply
  15. That sounds like an old episode of Steptoe and Son.One of my aunties ended up being buried instead of cremated. When folk don't honour your last wishes it's pretty disappointing.

    Reply
  16. In the Tableland press today there are 2 separate stories of the Council burying people in the wrong family plot, then they had to dig them up and put them in the right place. I agree, the deceased deserve more respect.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

