RSS Feed

Not just a mug

Posted on

                                        
                                                 Lustre lost, reflecting age,
                                                 Ne'er a contender for centre stage
                                                 At banquets for a Queen or King,
                                                 A pannikin, tin, a simple thing.
                                                 Handle's loose, chipped and worn,
                                                 Stained and looking all forlorn.
                                                 No painted gilded artistry,
                                                 Ye olde green mug's a lot like me.

(This is not an open invitation for any of my Aussie friends to post the comment;
"Yes GOF, you are a mug" or any variation upon that theme.
To do so might unearth that ugly Wrath of Gof once again.)

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

About GOF

"Life is like a sewer. What you get out of it, depends upon what you put into it." (Tom Lehrer)

13 responses »

  1. (This is not an open invitation for any of my Aussie
    friends to post the colloquialism "Yes GOF, you are a mug" or any
    variation upon that theme.Spoilsport.

    Reply
  2. Ye olde green mug would be less battered
    If GOF spent more time doing things that mattered
    Less drinking tea, it's just not funny
    Get yourself on into Bunnings
    Buy yourself some bolts and brackets
    And fix that verandah post, it's bloody knackered.

    Stop posting photos that make me homesick.

    Reply
  3. so you are saying that if we do unleash the ugly Wrath of Gof then we are the mugs?

    Reply
  4. Seems someone's daughter could have gotten him a nice new mug from Turkey …

    Reply
  5. Wrath of GofGof is a jealous Gof.

    Reply
  6. Spoilsport.Don't worry Snowy, I am sure I'll present you with many more opportunities to at least think it, if not write it. 🙂

    Reply
  7. Sheesh! two minutes and you come up with something of higher quality and more practical value than something I agonised over for half an eternity.I'll get onto that post job right away…..we don't want your inheritance to be blown away in the next cyclone do we 🙂

    Reply
  8. so you are saying that if we do unleash the ugly Wrath of Gof then we are the mugs? Never would I say that FD about my valued friends.I just thought I would show Snowy that I knew what was going on in his head before he'd even thunk it.

    Reply
  9. Mrs Gof keeps buying new mugs for me.She even contracted to have one specially made.It has "Mr Grumpy" emblazoned across one side.Coffee just does not taste as good in anything except my old tin mug.

    Reply
  10. Gof is a jealous Gof.Gof is all sorts of unpleasant things as well m-t……"jealous" is the least of my shortcomings 🙂

    Reply
  11. Where is the open fire?Nice mug. The handle is only required until it cools down enough to wrap your hands around it.If I can find my "snoz" cup I'll post it up. Mugs should always handle a decent size drink just like this one.

    Reply
  12. There is an open fire……in winter. This year was so warm we only had to light it a couple of times.I love my mug. Some of the ceramic mugs suck so much heat out of the drink that you have to pre-warm them. I think we need to see your snoz mug.

    Reply
  13. Oh, I have really missed my laptop! This time-sharing on the manservant's computer has not been very good for my vox neighbours. I basically have time to write emails to my family and then time is up…. but here I am 5 days late – what a great mug – you need a fire in the paddock for this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

