RSS Feed

The joy of tax

Posted on

It is that time of year in Australia when tax documents must be lodged for the previous financial year.

Mrs GOF and I look forward to it, because our tax accountant relocated to the beautiful tropical mountain village of Kuranda.

We can behave for the day just like the tourists who disembark from either the train which winds its way through tunnels up the coastal escarpment from Cairns, or the world renowned Skyrail rainforest viewing cablecar.

We dine out cheap and alfresco on a village specialty; 
Kangaroo pie with coffee, and watch the world go by, which it does very slowly, in this stunningly beautiful part of North Queensland.

The Taxation Commissioner of Australia I suspect rarely schedules an office party to celebrate the electronic arrival of our paperwork, for our little plant nursery provides only a basic income for ourselves, with an occasional allocation of beer money for him.

Sometimes I feel that we are a very weak link in Australia's economic chain, for there has never been a time in my life when I was driven to try and make large amounts of money and accordingly pay more tax.

I subscribe to a quaint old country boy's belief that my entitlement to riches does not extend above that which accrues proportionate to the physical labour I put into the project.

Lotteries, share trading, speculative investment, get-rich-quick schemes and chasing rainbows are of no interest to me.

Once again the poetic and philosophical words of LaPoone;

"Eyes unblinkingly focussed on some distant pot of gold
 Will never see peripheral beauty along the way unfold."

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

About GOF

"Life is like a sewer. What you get out of it, depends upon what you put into it." (Tom Lehrer)

13 responses »

  1. You get to drive there to visit your tax accountant? Wow! Love the Coondoo street. It seems to be a theme these days, how we don't need millions to enjoy ourselves. I know people who work over 50 hours a week for decades for just a few nice weeks in Florida, not worth it!

    Reply
  2. Ohhh, I miss Kuranda! *wails* I used to go up there often when I was regularly hanging out in Cairns. Love the steep hillside of the railway. I once pretended to be a completely deaf lip reader for a whole day while hanging out with a family on the cable cars and market, and back down on the train. lol – I ran into them again a few days later when they called out my name and I turned around. *blush*

    Reply
  3. Best butterfly display I ever saw was on that train ride up from Cairns.Almost makes it worthwhile paying tax.

    Reply
  4. Yes, Kuranda and the trip to and from are quite spectacular alright. And I agree with you Pete that those butterflies are something not to be missed. I do have to say though that a certain cafe there is not remembered fondly by us. We ordered a snack, and waited, and waited, until finally asking the waitress how much longer our order would be. What order? Much apologising, and promises to attend to it straight away. Would you believe they forgot it again? So we walked out. I was wondering later if my appearance suggested I might do a runner, or something.

    Reply
  5. I don't know what you would think of Coondoo street with peak hour traffic.It might have 2 more vehicles than shown in the photograph. It is Kuranda's main street :-)I am aware of too many people who spend lifetimes slaving away in offices, accumulating fortunes to enjoy after retirement which they do at age 60, then drop dead a couple of years later. There has to be a better way of living life.

    Reply
  6. I once pretended to be a completely deaf lip reader for a whole day LOL….wonderful story …..thanks LOMThe town has been seriously renovated and landscaped in recent times but it still has the little village atmosphere.

    Reply
  7. Best butterfly display I ever saw was on that train ride up from Cairns.They now have a world class butterfly sanctuary/exhibit in Kuranda along with several other wildlife attractions. It is a nice town to spend a few hours in.

    Reply
  8. I might do a runner, or something. It makes you contemplate just how much "running" we could do at our age Snowy:-) I had a similar experience in Atherton last week…the cafe service was crap, the food woeful and the waitress was the surliest bit of humanity I have ever come across. I think we have a lot to learn about the correct way to attract tourists.

    Reply
  9. It makes you contemplate just how much "running" we could do at our age Snowy:-) Yes, with my ample girth I have a built in lead bag, GOF.

    Reply
  10. That's another addition to the to do list. I think the East coast is going to take a lot longer than the West coast did. It only took 7 months to go up through the Center and down to Perth.

    Reply
  11. Oh – you poor thing having to go through such gorgeousness!! I have not been this far north – it looks so lush – it could be in Hawaii (especially Kauai).

    Reply
  12. I think the East coast is going to take a lot longer than the West coast did. I might be middle aged before you get up this far 🙂

    Reply
  13. Oh – you poor thingThank you…..I know who my real friends are 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

