RSS Feed

A gift for Globet

Posted on


(The attached little comedy sketch is specially for Globet, and for anyone else whose week has also not been entirely filled with sunshine.)

Glob, if one day Old Gof comes to stay for a while, then invites our mutual septuagenarian Vox friend/resident philosopher to visit, the conversation you witness across your dining room table may, on occasions, perhaps go a little bit like this;

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

About GOF

"Life is like a sewer. What you get out of it, depends upon what you put into it." (Tom Lehrer)

15 responses »

  1. My God! Those fellers described my life to a T, or is that L. Whatever….

    Reply
  2. I think we share quite a lot of common ground Snowy.

    Reply
  3. Phew, I am so glad you said "week" and not "day" because my day was awesome, and for a moment I thought that meant I wouldn't be allowed to watch this. One of my favorite skits, it is. 😛

    Reply
  4. That's classic. Those, and Mr Creosote are my favourite sketches. I must stress though, my dinner party behavior is NOT based on Mr Creosote….Couldn't be more opposite!

    Reply
  5. I am so glad your day has been awesome LOM, and happy that you enjoyed the wonderful talents of the Monty Python team.

    Reply
  6. I am so glad you enjoyed it. Both Globet and I really love British comedy.Our all time favourite is Faulty Towers. She has DVD's of the entire series.Now I've got to find Mr Creosote so I know what not to expect when I come to your next dinner party 😉

    Reply
  7. I definitely did, GOF.I loved Flowery Twats myself. Or was it Watery Fowl? Either way, upon watching a making of… series, they admitted that the lettering on the signs never actually worked out as the same letters within Fawlty Towers. One of those useless nuggets of information you can hijack someone's post with in a comment, should you so choose! I never paid attention, I usually just laughed at what was put up there.One of my favourite scenes within FT is the one where Basil and Sybil were in their beds and Sybil is on the phone. "I know!"…."I know!!"…."I know!!!" "Well if you know why is she bloody telling you then?"Comic genius.

    Reply
  8. Comic genius. I agree……I must have watched the series 4 or 5 times when it has been repeated on TV. and get new laughs every time.Cleese is just a genius of his craft. For me the perfection is in the script as well as the acting.Every episode has a series of sub plots which all come together in the final minutes of each episode.For some reason the humour is apparently not very well accepted in the US. We had American friends staying with us and we played the episode with Basil thrashing the living hell out of his broken down car with a tree branch and they could not see the funny side of it at all.Then again I have difficulty with a lot of US comedy because the canned laughter really annoys me. Each to his own.

    Reply
  9. Gee, I can hardly wait for that visit 😛
    Coincidentally, I actually spent a lovely day yesterday curled up on the couch, nursing a heinous hangover and getting reacquainted with Basil and co.
    "I can speek Eeengleesh..I learn it from a booook!"

    Reply
  10. I'd either never seen this bit before or I'd forgotten it (dad used to watch Monty Python when I was a wee MT…sorry Pa Kettle did).I just laughed til I cried! Oy, that's us, it is.

    Reply
  11. If I had to live my life with Sybil it would give me a heinous headache.:-)

    Reply
  12. Thanks m-t…..very happy that you enjoyed the reminder of times past.. I had forgotten that you were once a "wee MT" 🙂

    Reply
  13. Awesome! Laughed out loud the whole time.

    Reply
  14. Very happy that you enjoyed it Emjay.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

