RSS Feed

Cairns esplanade

Posted on

The inspiration for all the literary detritus which fills these pages comes from a peculiar and diverse range of sources.

This one, apart from being a genuine desire to publicise a very beautiful place, is also driven by a perverse act of defiance.

There are some places, at least in Australia, where unaccompanied old men holding digital cameras are viewed with great suspicion.
My entire gender has been painted by the broad brush of Lowest Common Moral Denominator, especially in places where children and families play.

So, having run the gauntlet of the redecorators, security guards, police and lifeguards, I am proud to show off a small part of my tropical paradise.

The Cairns city waterfront was, until the 1990's, for most people, a no-go zone at night. It was the habitat of drunkards and troublemakers.
A forward thinking city council converted it into an extraordinarily beautiful and safe community place for locals and tourists to gather.

Facilities include; lagoon swimming pool, kilometres of foreshore boardwalk and bicycle riding paths, skate park, interpretive information booths, barbecue areas, exercise equipment and fitness classes.   All, to my knowledge, free of charge to use.

Occasionally, humans get this "redevelopment" thing right.


P.S. 
I am hoping here also to solicit a little appreciation for my intrepidity in venturing outdoors during the middle of winter to take these photographs.
(Cairns average August min.17C, max 27C.)

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

About GOF

"Life is like a sewer. What you get out of it, depends upon what you put into it." (Tom Lehrer)

30 responses »

  1. Nice shots indeed, GOF. And I won't ask how you know that the area was the habitat of drunkards and troublemakers in the 90's.I remember taking shots of the same area, and being aware of the displeasure of the zealots who frown on such practices, even though I was accompanied by Mrs Snowy at the time. So, good for you, GOF, from one reprobate rebel to another.

    Reply
  2. I can see some changes there even from the last time I was there (2004). I lovelovelove that lagoon.
    I hope you didn't go in the cool hours of the day, GOF. I would hate to think of you freezing to death for the sake of your art. I salute you for bucking the social rule about guys taking photographs in public places! 😀

    Reply
  3. Beautiful shots GOF, the place looks lovely, clearly redevelopment isn't always a giant sized waste of time and resources, not in Australia at any rate. It's not just your country that views men with a digital camera with suspicion, it's here too. The thinking now appears to be man + camera = paedophile, I'm not sure why. In fact men working in any field with kids come under suspicion here too, The way they carry on you'd think there was a paedophile lurking behind every lampo-post, despite the fact that something ridiculous like 80% of abused kids are preyed on by a family member or family friend.

    Reply
  4. Amazing photos, thank you for braving the weather for that. My first thought was, "take me to this paradise"! Barbecue and bicycling around ocean boardwalks are among my favorite childhood memories. I sure do hope I get to visit someday, and if I do I owe you strawberries and champagne for the information!

    Reply
  5. Granted, what they've done with the place is lovely, just lovely.Where do I go at night now, though?

    Reply
  6. Stunning shots GOF, and thank you so much for braving the harsh Cairns winter – by the way, today (August, peak Summer in the UK) we managed min 11 max 16 here in beautiful rainy manchester…

    Reply
  7. "And I won't ask how you know that the area was the habitat of drunkards and troublemakers in the 90's."Good.So, good for you, GOF, from one reprobate rebel to another.Thank you Snowy, I am in good company.

    Reply
  8. I salute you for bucking the social rule about guys taking photographs in public places! :DThank you LOM. If I remember correctly it was an inspiration from you that sent me off on this errand. Thank you.You would be even more impressed with the Esplanade now….it has been extended Northwards, and there are now plans to build a boardwalk from that end through the mangroves all the way to the Cairns Airport.Unfortunately the Council did not succeed at everything. The city place which used to have a nice shaded grassy area to listen to midday music performed in the soundshell, has been transformed into something resembling the sahara desert.

    Reply
  9. Thank you Vicola.It is sadly now a part of our world that all men necessarily have to be viewed with suspicion because of the despicable behaviour of a few.Those of us who have some sensitivity to the issue find ourselves always holding back in the way we interract socially with the children of the world. I am sure it is detrimental to both parties.

    Reply
  10. I sure do hope I get to visitIf you ever do get to visit Australia Ellie, Cairns should be on your list of destinations.Great Barrier reef, tropical rainforest and the outback all within easy travel distance.We will look forward to sharing something delicious with you, for the other side of the Esplanade is lined with restaurants and backpacker facilities.Just please keep the champagne out of reach of Mrs GOF….she gets quite noisy and irresponsible on just half a glass.

    Reply
  11. Where do I go at night now, though?To bed? (I thought you were asking a trick question for a country boy to answer)Cairns is full of every sort of nightlife you require m-t, until 4 am at which time you can probably be further entertained by drunken street brawling.

    Reply
  12. thank you so much for braving the harsh Cairns winterThank you Pete for acknowledging my sacrifice.I don't think I would travel well in your climate. Our weather on the Tablelands is often drizzly and grey with a max temp of only 14 or 15, but we can always escape it by driving the short distance down the range to Cairns.

    Reply
  13. but we can always escape it by driving the short distance down the range to CairnsYou'd be fine GOF.

    Reply
  14. Pete, do you ever sleep?You were up at 4 am yesterday….I was going to send you a cup of coffee but figured it might have been near the end of your shift and you might have preferred to go to sleep instead. 😉

    Reply
  15. I try not to sleep. I find it interferes with me being awake. I'll be awake at 6am tomorrow morning, from tonight's shift. My previous reply seems to have been cut short which is a bit of an annoyance. It was supposed to read:You'd be fine GOF. 15-20 hour drive to the south of France, job done. Ah forget it, casual sarcasm has no place on Vox ;)I'd be in trouble if I fell asleep tonight. I'm paying the UK part of our company's wages and if I screw that up….yeesh!Oh, and kudos on keeping your camera out. If you were walking around in speedos with the camera out I think it'd be more of a problem. We've just booked Aston into nursery and we had to sign a disclaimer as to whether we refuse to allow the staff to take photos when the kids go out to play and stuff. If we had, there's no photos allowed of ANY of the kids. It's getting beyond a joke.

    Reply
  16. …at night. It was the habitat of drunkards and troublemakers You got it! 😀

    Reply
  17. Ah-Ha! GOF, eventually sees da light.You must explain everything very slowly to me m-t. 😉

    Reply
  18. " If you were walking around in speedos with the camera out I think it'd be more of a problem." There are some things that I would never wish upon the world. (although it does not seem to bother some others of my age with torsos even more worn out and misshapen than mine)Very interesting about your nursery procedures. Not sure if it is the same here. Probably is. Anyone who works with children in any capacity has to apply for a "blue card" first, which entails police background checks etc before being granted. I don't have a problem with that.

    Reply
  19. Wow. Cairns has changed since I last went there. About 20 years ago.When we return to grey nomadding we are heading up the East coast and Cairns is definitely on the agenda. We think it will probably take about 2 to 3 years to do this side of the country.

    Reply
  20. It certainly has changed Peter. Most of the development I am happy with, but sadly the vibrant centre of town suffered as shopping centres moved business into the suburbs.A vibrant backpacking sector has more recently kept the city alive, and the Esplanade is just a wonderful focus for all the activity.I hope you do manage to get into grey nomadding gear and visit Cairns. It would be a pleasure to show you some of the lesser known attractions of of the tropics.

    Reply
  21. Liz's Mum is looking in pretty good nick at the moment so it may be a while before we charge off again. Hopefully with a steady stream of income off the Net. (Something I'm working on at the moment and the reason for my reduced Vox activity).We have rellies up on the Atherton Tableland so we will surely make it that far. I met Ninja face to face when we hit Perth and we hit it off like a house on fire so I have threatened Snowy with a visit too.You have both been warned!!

    Reply
  22. Why don't we all just gather at Snowy's place.His whole neighbourhood just turn up unannounced with bottles of JW in hand.Now that would give us something to blog about afterwards if any of us survived to tell the story. 😉

    Reply
  23. I'm a very silly person! Regarding the Ozarks vs. Strian (was it?) people at my job (not so very far from the Ozarks, particularly relative to Australia) don't know what the hell I'm saying a lot of the time. Between a lisp, hybrid accent (partial Great Lakes, which is quite far from here, a little Ozark, some Yiddish…oh, and the occasional Irish word>) and a lot of 1880's jargon and colloquialisms, I'm quite possibly the problem!

    Reply
  24. Not to barge into the convo but I'm going to barge into the convo?People show up with bottles of whiskey in hand? I call those people friends!

    Reply
  25. I reckon we have the entry fee covered with the JW.You can come too M-T. You have a couple of years to save for the trip or we can pick up Snowy and head to your place.

    Reply
  26. we can pick up Snowy and head to your place.Wonder if Snowy ever considered himself an export commodity 😉

    Reply
  27. People show up with bottles of whiskey in hand? I call those people friends!I suspect we should not dare to turn up at Snowy's unannounced without JW in hand. It is one of the rules of "mutual obligation" he has put in place.I'm quite possibly the problem! Lets share the responsibility…most people in the world don't "get" my sense of humour.

    Reply
  28. That sounds brilliant. I bet the dining is terrific there.

    Reply
  29. I've never been to Cairns so would love to see more of your photographic art – that is as long as you can bear the elements. Noosa is as far north as I ever went on the "mainland" and Long Island in the Whitsundays. I recently photographed some little girls selling drinks on the footpath – their mother was nearby watching. I daresay neither you nor the manservant would've got a warm reception if you had whipped out a camera and pointed it in their direction. (their mother smiled and waved a hello as I did this).

    Reply
  30. I've never been to Cairns so would love to see more of your photographic art Thank you Emjay and I am flattered by your use of the final 2 words.I have a couple of projects coming up which might be the subject of my happy snaps. Was planning as you know to do a Dunk Island story but managed to get swine flu (or guinea pig flu) on the day so only Mrs GOf and Globet went.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

