RSS Feed

Happy birthday Mrs GOF

Posted on

Tomorrow Mrs GOF will be 50

The final statistic required by inquisitive long term readers who will now be able to reach a conclusion as to the extent of GOF's original cradle snatching achievement.

I will now provide them with some thinking time to do the mental arithmetic.  (I'll just hum along in the background)

Hmmmmm     da    de     doo     da      hmmmmmmm

OK.  All done?  Let's go.

I am going to uncharacteristically get all romantic and soppy today.

At this very moment Mrs GOF is wandering around the house wailing
"I don't wanna get old"  and pleading with the cat and me to do something about it.

Mrs GOF scooped me up from the carnage of a previous marriage wreck a very long time ago.  She must have seen in me some things which I did not see in myself.

She is probably the most friendly, sociable, good natured, outgoing
(and talkative) person ever to live on this planet.
We are complete opposites, miraculously attracted in a little project of life to care for each other.

In acknowledgement of  Mrs GOF's major milestone, I would like to offer her the words of John Lennon's "Woman"   

Woman I can hardly express,
My mixed emotion at my thoughtlessness,
After all I'm forever in your debt,
And woman I will try to express,
My inner feelings and thankfulness,
For showing me the meaning of success,

Woman I know you understand
The little child inside the man,
Please remember my life is in your hands,
And woman hold me close to your heart,
However distant don't keep us apart,
After all it is written in the stars.

Happy birthday, my dear Mrs GOF.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

About GOF

"Life is like a sewer. What you get out of it, depends upon what you put into it." (Tom Lehrer)

25 responses »

  1. Happy Birthday Mrs. GOF and many more happy years to both of you – 50 is not the age it used to be with modern advances, so let her know she's still a young beauty! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  2. Lovely post GOF and a very happy birthday to Mrs.GOF – who is a young'n at 50. I wish I was turning 50 again!

    Reply
  3. Happy Birthday, Mrs GOF! And thanks for rescuing GOF from a life of alcohol fuelled debauchery. You must indeed be the most friendly, sociable, good natured, outgoing (and talkative) person ever to live on this planet. And do think positive. After all, you could be like one of GOF's Vox neighbours, a 70 year old whisky sodden old reprobate with no redeeming features at all.

    Reply
  4. Oi! I'm not 70 yet!

    Ohhh.. I get you now.

    Anyway, happy birthday, Mrs GOF. Look after the grumpy old fella, despite the facade he may put up he seems a really nice guy.
    All the best to you and the family.

    Reply
  5. pleading with the cat and me to do something about itWell, if that doesn't work, she can fall back on what Pa Kettle tells people about getting older: Better than the alternative.Happy Solar Return to Mrs. GOF! Mrs. GOF and I would get on like a house afire! She's welcome to my whiskey! After all, she's the birthday girl!

    Reply
  6. She's 50 … and you're 80? Wow!(Yeah, I know …)

    Reply
  7. Thank you very much Ellie. She has read your thoughts, and I have to admit that today she is very much more accepting of the number 50 than she was yesterday.

    Reply
  8. Thank you Emjay. I don't think I would like to wind back the clock to any previous age. Quite happy where I am, and the memories will suffice.

    Reply
  9. Thank you Snowy (I think).I think Mrs GOF is amused by, and thankful that GOF has, the company of one particular Vox neighbour you refer to in the last sentence.

    Reply
  10. Thank you PG.She has read your comments and appreciates your sentiments.She is indeed one of the few people who knows how much of my grumpiness is real, and how much is "facade".

    Reply
  11. She's welcome to my whiskey! Oh my God. m-t, m-t, m-t, please don't be so liberal with invitations which might come true. You and Mrs GOF on the whiskey!!!!!! I'm leaving town.

    Reply
  12. I know I might look like I'm 80 GOM, but I would, for the record, like to point out that I have never had a romantic relationship with a foetus πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  13. As a fellow cradle snatcher I can appreciate where you are coming from GOF. I had a 6 year head start on being 50 and Liz only just qualified for Pryme Movers at the gym last June. (The 21st to be precise).I'm ashamed to confess I have never paid attention to the lyrics of John Lennon's Woman. They are beautiful indeed. If this is what you used to woo Mrs GOF then you carried an unfair advantage. ;-)Attraction is an amazing thing. How a sensible young girl like Liz, and I suspect Mrs GOF too, can fall for grumpy old philosophers given to extraordinary flights of fancy is beyond my ken. Thank goodness we have them though. At least one partner in a relationship has to have their feet planted firmly on the ground.

    Reply
  14. "Pryme Movers" ???? does this mean she is a member of one of those groups of ultra fit people who pull semi trailers along a measured distance of flat road using only their teeth?Lennons lyrics; only recently did I become aware of them. I have for a long time been interested in the unusual chord structures of his music compositions, but when I stumbled upon these words I thought they were quite appropriate. As for my "wooing" techniques, they were, along with my career, quite "agricultural" ;-)Attraction is an amazing thing.Certainly is…and very difficult to predict which ones will last, and those that will not.

    Reply
  15. Pryme Movers is a politically correct term for old farts. Not enough teeth left between them to pull the skin off a rice pudding.In respect of Lennon's lyrics, I'm a big fan of Imagine.
    Imagine there's no heaven
    It's easy if you try
    No hell below us
    Above us only skyHow religious folk can love this tune and not recognise the message is beyond me. Of course some American nutters got to the lyrics and changed the most important bit for their sheeple.Certainly is…and very difficult to predict which ones will last, and those that will not.Ain't that the truth. We clicked up our 30 something anniversary last December and Liz can still crack me up laughing.

    Reply
  16. Oops! I forgot to wish Mrs GOF Happy Birthday.Happy Birthday, Mrs GOF.

    Reply
  17. Just between me, you and the wall, I am a bit protective of my water of life BUT since I'm from the Ozarks, we're known for hospitality; granted, like on Beverly Hillbillies, it might be offering you some possum gizzards (even if you don't have possums, I reckon you get the joke that they don't have gizzards…it was still a funny line from the program).So, even if I proffered whiskey that was completely guzzled down before my eyes, I was taught the proper response would be, "That's what it's there for."Because you know, it really is, even if it means I have to go without til next time.

    Reply
  18. Thanks Peter, and congratulations on your anniversary. Mrs GOF and I also spend a lot of time laughing about the most peculiar things. Just keep that info to yourself though, for I have a facade of grumpiness to maintain.My opinion is that Lennon and McCartney were musical geniuses.

    Reply
  19. I was raised on a diet of Beverly Hillbillies, and most of Australia has gizzardless possums. Mrs GOF would not "guzzle" your whiskey. Probably a couple of sniffs from a small glass would send her off into her own little world of unrestrained laughter. She would also have the manners to replenish your supplies before she left so you would not need to go without.

    Reply
  20. No need for replenishment but a song or two would be nice πŸ™‚

    Reply
  21. a song or two would be nice"What can ya do with a drunken sailor" etc etc πŸ™‚ In the key of G

    Reply
  22. I don't know that one but it sounds fun!

    Reply
  23. I'm only a smidgeon past that 50 mark and I can verify that we "girls" really come into our own now! I started my 50th watching the sun rise over Uluru with some champagne and then went back for the sun set with more champagne. One feels truly infinitesimal on the time scale when looking at that big hunk of rock.

    Reply
  24. Mrs GOF has got over the trauma of the actual day.Uluru and champagne, that is a nice memory to keep for your 50th.Globet flew home yesterday, so we are going a to have a family day out together on Dunk Island next week. It should be memorable for all of us.

    Reply
  25. Oooh – Dunk Island would be lovely. I'm looking forward to your post and photos about the day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

