RSS Feed

Pugilist pussy

Posted on

Introducing, for the very first time, in the blue corner, legendary mouse slayer,  MARNI GOF!!!!!


And, in the red corner, punching well above his weight, I give you, CASSIUS TICK!!!!!!

                                                       Then, shortly afterwards;

In my area, paralysis ticks on cats and dogs often constitute a medical emergency.  Animals can be dead within 48 hours.
Detected early enough, the pets can be saved by veterinary intervention…..sedation and injection of anti-toxin.

Symptoms are almost identical to those I display every time the Highway Patrol pull me aside for drunk driving.
I am unable to walk in a straight line and my legs collapse beneath me.  In Australian bush speak, I am wearing my "wobbly boots",  and when I try to make an explanation to the good Officer, all that comes out of my mouth is a strange quacking noise.

Six days after treatment, Marni is now starting to walk, drink and  eat again.
Mrs GOF is especially happy.

I hope this little story might placate my friend Grouchy Old Man, gentleman and cat lover, whose sensibilities I recently offended by including the words "explode" and "cats" in the same sentence.

"I, GOF, hereby declare that I operate a cat friendly environment."  *** 
 

(And I have a $200 receipt from the vets to prove it)

*** Cats and children are subject to the same regulations.
     My response towards them is commensurate with the
     level of conduct they exhibit towards me.
     Should either class of animal fail to reach reasonable minimum
     standards of behaviour, then I reserve the right, entirely at my 
     own discretion, to revoke this Declaration of Tolerance.
    

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

About GOF

"Life is like a sewer. What you get out of it, depends upon what you put into it." (Tom Lehrer)

18 responses »

  1. I think I might try that one,next time. It's orright, ossifer, it's just the effects of my paralysis tick, and I'm rushing to hospital before I die. Good one, GOF. Glad the moggie made it, OK.

    Reply
  2. Thank goodness you said receipt and not recipe as I first mistakenly thought,

    Reply
  3. "and ossifer it was the tick wot injected all that alcohol that ya brefalizer machine just detected" 😉

    Reply
  4. receipt and not recipeShhhhsh Pete…..GOM is still within earshot;-)

    Reply
  5. It just keeps getting better…

    Reply
  6. Thank you. It won't happen again in the forseeable future.

    Reply
  7. It just keeps getting better…"better"???? perhaps there is a more appropriate word somewhere 😉

    Reply
  8. I'm far from a cat person, but I like fleas and ticks even less. Glad Marni survived.

    Reply
  9. I got a tick while camping once. It's just one of the reasons why I think camping is uncivilised. It was just an ordinary tick though, not come across a paralysis tick before. Glad the GofCat came through with no lasting scars!!

    Reply
  10. There are many animals I probably prefer (like lemurs) more than cats, but nevertheless we have a responsibility to look after those we choose to have as pets. (even when it costs $200 😉

    Reply
  11. I'm not sure about the world distribution of paralysis ticks.They can give humans a very nasty headache which lasts for days, and there is anecdotal evidence that animals as large as horses have been killed by them.Some of the luxury "camping" equipment available these days makes you wonder why people bother to leave the comforts of home at all.

    Reply
  12. LOL @ your disclaimer! That's a disgusting looking creature! (the tick not Marni). I was in the "mountains" around Gloucester (NSW) and managed to get a tick in my groin. When I first saw it, I thought I had somehow got a flake of chocolate stuck to me! LOL – the brain is a funny thing – as if there is chocolate in the wilderness.

    Reply
  13. A neighbour once had a tick on the back of her head for a couple of days before she realised what it was. She had severe headaches for a week or more.Nice story from Gloucester 😉

    Reply
  14. It's about time someone added a bit of luxury to camping! I never did understand the appeal of sleeping on some rocks then going for a pee in the lashing rain behind a bush at 3am wearing a coat because you're freezing. But then I live in the UK, we don't really have the climate for camping.
    And that tick really is an ugly bugger.

    Reply
  15. I never did understand the appeal of sleeping on some rocks then going for a pee in the lashing rain behind a bush at 3am Tsk tsk tsk Vicola. Where is your sense of adventure.What could be nicer than a little camping trip in a 2 person tent to John 0'Groats this coming winter. Just think of the blogging potential. 😉

    Reply
  16. I've had a think but I am struggling to think of anything that wouldn't be nicer than a camping trip to John O'Groats in a 2 person tent this coming winter. I did come up with 'traumatic amputation of the left leg' but then you didn't specify the length of the camping trip so it's still under debate.

    Reply
  17. Nah….I prefer you with two legs.Cancel the camping trip too…..I don't want to take responsibility for any misadventure which might occur on your 3am excursions into the wilderness.:-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

