RSS Feed

(Lime) Stoned toad

Posted on


Evidence!  If this is the sort of torment Mrs GOF wreaks upon helpless creatures in her vegetable patch, then it is no wonder that I have spent the last 29 years utterly terrified to step out of line at home.

(Disclaimer:  No toad was hurt beyond a moment of acute embarrassment caused by its own misadventure.
I made this all up just so there would be a story for the picture.
Mrs GOF would never persecute me simply for bad-mouthing her on my blog.  She would just kill me.)

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

About GOF

"Life is like a sewer. What you get out of it, depends upon what you put into it." (Tom Lehrer)

16 responses »

  1. Er, that's not one of the cane toad skins you're supposed to be sending me, GOF?

    Reply
  2. Is he going to croak?Sorry.

    Reply
  3. LOL – this is fabulous! What do you do with the skins?

    Reply
  4. No, but I'll let you in on a little secret….I think we might have stumbled across something accidentally. You may know that the stimulant effects of betel nut are only achieved after chewing it together with pepper and LIME!We may just have an enhanced product here. I'll put a couple of limed ones in the box with the others, so please let me know if they provide any greater enjoyment.

    Reply
  5. I'll let you know if he says anything or feels unwell.

    Reply
  6. What do you do with the skins? There is a rumour going around that licking toad skins provides some sort of mind altering effect. Snowy and I will be conducting some scientific work concurrently to see if there is any basis of truth. If our blogging concurrently terminates forever, then you should conclude that perhaps licking toad skins is not all it's cracked up to be.

    Reply
  7. If our blogging concurrently terminates forever, then you should conclude that perhaps licking toad skins is not all it's cracked up to beOr maybe it is….

    Reply
  8. I'll put a couple of limed ones in the box with the others, so please let me know if they provide any greater enjoyment. I can hardly wait. I think…

    Reply
  9. This reminds me. We have a bunny in one patch of The Duchess' lilies who is infested. I suggested to my mother to put flea/ tick powder heavily atop the low-level greenery in hopes a little would rub on baby-bun.She looked at me like I was crazy. I am, indeed, crazy; however, I thought it ingenious! Oh, well. Maybe Mrs. GOF could give me some pointers on coating a wee bunny?

    Reply
  10. That's why I don't let my wife read any of my blogs …

    Reply
  11. I suspect the wee bunny may be a little more difficult to catch than Mrs GOF's toad.Dairy cows here have a "back rub rope" provided for them at rump level. It contains parasite medication and the cows just rub against it every day. Maybe you need a "rabbit rope" amongst the lilies?

    Reply
  12. Or maybe it is….Hadn't thought of that possibility ;-)Lets just stick to blogging. Some adventures in life are best left to the young.

    Reply
  13. I made an early call that Mrs GOF could read anything I wrote which concerned her.Figured it might save me from a bit of distress at some point in the future.Plus a lot of the pictures are her work so I happily acknowledge that.

    Reply
  14. We did that for our cattle: gunny sack filled with parasite-controller tied between 2 trees on a line.They used it. I don't know about rabbits…cattle *like* to rub up against trees and fences. I'm not sure if I've ever seen our wild rabbits doing that. You either don't see them or they're eating clover in the garden. 🙂

    Reply
  15. Cane toads are feral and deserve no quarter in my book – make great balls for golf practice. It is just embarassing when they land on neighbours roof…

    Reply
  16. Use a driver instead of a 7 iron?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

