RSS Feed

Little scraps #2

Posted on

1. "You are here to enrich the world, and you impoverish yourself if you forget that errand"          (Woodrow Wilson)

2.   idiomatic      Ugandan washing machine
      tittilate           Late onset of puberty

3. Coles supermarkets sell 425 gram net wt. cans of
"Baked Beans".  By their own fine print admission, each can contains 179 grams of baked beans.  The remainder is "sauce". (primarily water)

I think there used to be a commodity known as commercial ethics.
It incorporated something my Mum and Dad would have called  "honesty", from an era when the corner grocer had large hanging scales for all to read the correct weight.
I wonder if the ethics of commerce will ever make a comeback.

4. Yet another wonderful, genuine, useful and affordable service is being offered to SMS users in Australia.  Text the name of you and your partner to get the best possible name for your first offspring;

Gof

Text;     GOF AND ELLE 
 

Reply;  BLOODY MIRACLE GOF 
(not good, but I'll accept it if she does)

5.  In rural Papua New Guinea where birth certificates were not issued, the standard method of determining whether or not a child was old enough to start school was for it to reach one hand over its head and touch the opposite shoulder.  This manouvre supposedly cannot be achieved by children younger than 6 years of age.

And, as I feel like being a fount of indispensible knowledge today, apparently it is also impossible to lick your elbow. 
I wonder who the unemployed dingbat was who discovered that, and what other anatomical truths he found out during the same journey of discovery.
It is an assumption which failed to take into consideration those of us who are endowed with extraordinarily long tongues.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

About GOF

"Life is like a sewer. What you get out of it, depends upon what you put into it." (Tom Lehrer)

20 responses »

  1. I can barely reach my hand over my head to touch the opposite shoulder. Maybe I'm younger than I think I am!Alas … I cannot lick my elbow. BUT – I CAN touch the heel of my foot to my forehead (Not bad for a "fat guy") … does that count for something?

    Reply
  2. Ah GOF. In my short break I have missed your wit and humour. I will be mostly catching up on that tonight while normal people (in this country) sleep, but I prepare again for shifts.Quality post, sir. I chuckled heartily in my office (which is pronounced "garage")

    Reply
  3. Which reminds me, GOF. What are using in your still these days? I'm told that cane toad skins lose their kick after a while….

    Reply
  4. "I can barely reach my hand over my head to touch the opposite shoulder. Maybe I'm younger than I think I am! "GOM, your head is probably just so full of ideas and information that you can't get your hand around it ;-)Maybe there's a future in the circus for your other talent…..I can't get within two feet of doing that. (with apologies for the unintentional pun)

    Reply
  5. Probably the last thing readers need is for me to be encouraged to write more of this rubbish, but I thank you very much for your kind comment and it pleases me if it brought a smile to your face.

    Reply
  6. I'm told that cane toad skins lose their kick after a while…. Ten cane toads in the mail to you first thing tomorrow Snowy.Let's do a comparative trial.Please be so kind as to send your results to me first.

    Reply
  7. Damnit, now I have to find a five year old, and make them do calisthenics.

    Reply
  8. Much obliged, GOF. That should wonders for my cosmic perspective…

    Reply
  9. Please let me know if you can disprove the theory.

    Reply
  10. Just wait until the mushroom season starts in a couple of months Snowy, then we'll really be talking cosmic perspective 🙂

    Reply
  11. I'm waiting for Elle's reply.I think you are not without a chance there. Especially if she reads your blog.

    Reply
  12. Just wait until the mushroom season starts in a couple of months Snowy, then we'll really be talking cosmic perspective 🙂 Maybe that's when we'll move on to cosmic consciousness, GOF…

    Reply
  13. Especially if she reads your blog.I might be taking up a collection from my neighbourhood to fund my legal fees.

    Reply
  14. Maybe that's when we'll move on to cosmic consciousness, GOF…Or unconsciousness if we overdo it Snowy.

    Reply
  15. Stalking is such a nasty word. I prefer the historical term lovestruck.

    Reply
  16. I'll bet everyone who read this attempted to lick their elbow! 🙂

    Reply
  17. I wonder how Barbara Cartland would have phrased it?Misguided admiration perhaps. Certainly not stalking. That's not something good Victorian boys do is it?

    Reply
  18. When I first came across the information…..I tried it, and more than once!!…. I am a slow learner.

    Reply
  19. Not now I'm selecting my own vocabulary. I'm also training as a spin doctor in case the Libs work out they need a new one. Now what would I do with 30 pieces of silver?

    Reply
  20. Send them to me?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

