RSS Feed

A smorgasbord of disease

Posted on

Long before the days of the internet, Australia had Dr James Wright.

Most countries of the world probably had their own Dr Wright.  
It seemed that no matter what time of the day or night, Dr Wright would be on the radio or TV dispensing free medical advice with evangelical enthusiasm.

He wrote the Family Medical Guide which was an essential part of the furniture in most homes.  A hard cover manual of monumental proportions which contained vivid details of most diseases known to humans in the 1970's.
I once read through his Manual and suddenly discovered I was suffering from 17 illnesses which I did not have before opening the book.

With the advent of the internet, I could easily be convinced that I have several hundred ailments.  Indeed right now I think I might have pernicious infectious splodge of the anterior sibongle, which can only be cured by intravenous oil of hedgehog.  (No, don't bother googling it).

I have resolved to only use the internet for medical opinion when I really seriously require it, and to accept only that information which appeals to my common sense.

Actor Orson Bean in his autobiography gives sage advice about dealing with most minor ailments.  "If you don't think about them, they go away".

In Australian aboriginal custom the procedure of "pointing the bone" was sometimes meted out to those who seriously offended custom, immediately inducing psychosomatic illnesses in the recipient who often died after a short period of time.
The ultimate example of the power of mind over matter.

But is this process limited to native cultures?  
Could not an unexpected medical diagnosis of cancer have precisely the same effect on someone who had, until that point, considered themselves healthy?
Too often, in matters of health care, we happily surrender our individual power and intelligence to the medical profession.

Are all those blood tests really needed for the patients benefit, or are many conducted simply to keep the machinery of medical industry running quiet with a constant and excessive application of monetary lubricant?

Perhaps we underestimate the capacity to control our own health outcomes through sensible lifestyle and dietary choices, and the healing power of the mind.

And I hope you don't catch my splodge when reading this blog.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

About GOF

"Life is like a sewer. What you get out of it, depends upon what you put into it." (Tom Lehrer)

11 responses »

  1. my mother always says "if you go to the doctor you will get sick!".
    I can never think of James Wright without remembering that he is apparantly Chopper Reed's uncle…the genes sure got mixed on that one!

    Reply
  2. I'm glad you posted this, GOF. I read somewhere that whisky was very effective in warding off all those diseases of which you speak. I don't know if it is true, but I'm going to continue with the treatment, just in case. One can never be too careful, can one?

    Reply
  3. Well…things we learn. Thank you FD

    Reply
  4. My doctor says poor quality whisky can lead to repeated episodes of splodge.Stick with the good quality stuff Snowy.

    Reply
  5. Dr Wright did and up accused of some financial misdeeds but I don't think "wacking" people came in to it.Now I must go wash my hands before I contract a case of splodge from GOF's page.

    Reply
  6. I do use wedmd.com … but ONLY after a diagnosis, or to check on just what is in those prescription drugs. I also used it to decipher the "code" of the blood test results I got awhile back. Considering I'm 48 and those were the first tests I'd had in 10 years or so, I think they were needed. My wife, who got "bad" results is of a different opinion …

    Reply
  7. Last I heard of Dr Wright he was advocating washing and showering without any sort of soap.He's probably gone down with the splodge too.

    Reply
  8. I think 10 year intervals is about right for blood tests. Hope your results were all OK.I fortunately have a doctor who gives me down to earth advice on test results. Last year I had very high sugar results from the glucose overload test, but as I am not in any high risk group and otherwise feel healthy, he suggested I should just maintain a healthy diet and not be dependant on regular tests.

    Reply
  9. He lost a lot of cred with me when he did an ad campaign for Little Johnnie Howard discouraging the oldies from taking their meds.I put it in the same category as those shysters pushing death insurance. The concept is good but the marketing is disgraceful.

    Reply
  10. You mean you don't like Ian Turpie "sincerely" wanting us to subscribe for "less than a cup of coffee" a day? 😉

    Reply
  11. Yeah. Mr "Death can be unexpected".

    Reply

Leave a Reply

