RSS Feed

A hard nights day

Posted on

Today I tread for the first time upon some dangerous ground.
Now if anyone can't keep a secret, please immediately go elsewhere and read someone elses blog.
We don't want old GOF to suffer repercussions at home now do we?

For Mrs GOF,  English is the fifth language she learned to speak.
She remains competent in all five, but through a combination of having lived in Australia for the past 30 years, and incessant relentless  a devotion to practice, English is now her primary language.
Her vocabulary puts many native English speakers to shame, for which I would accordingly like to take all credit.
Except being a good Methodist boy I am forbidden to tell lies.

Nevertheless, like many for whom English is not their mother tongue, Mrs GOF is delightfully prone on occasions to generate innovative use of language.

Recently Mrs GOF got out of bed at her normal early hour, stretched, yawned, then gave consideration to the heavy work schedule which confronted her on that day.

Two minutes silence.

Stretch.

Yawn.

"I am going to bite the bullet and go back to bed".

I'm  thinking she should start learning her sixth language and stop wasting her life lounging around in bed

Just thinking.

Read and post comments

|

Send to a friend

About GOF

"Life is like a sewer. What you get out of it, depends upon what you put into it." (Tom Lehrer)

10 responses »

  1. lmao!!! I am going to use that this week. Unfortunately I will have to use it next weekend, because if I use it on a workday I might end up biting the end of an unemployment form!

    Reply
  2. I have the luxury of having a wife with no interest in the computer … that's the only way I can get away with saying a lot of the things I say – about her.I'm curious … what are the other four languages?

    Reply
  3. Danger danger Will Robinson. Better keep that Aussie love poem on standby.

    Reply
  4. I think she is perfectly correct

    Reply
  5. I hope it works for you LOM. Mrs GOF can get away with it any time because she is self employed.

    Reply
  6. Thank you Amorette for adding to the collection. We once had a long serving Premier of Queensland who constantly mixed his metaphors and abused English. "Don't count your chickens in the hand because its greener on the other side of the fence" etc etc And people kept voting for him. Maybe it was for his entertainment value.

    Reply
  7. Thanks GOM. Mrs GOF puts up with a lot of crap from me, but I do run this stuff past her before I post it. She is a really good sport.

    Reply
  8. Thanks Peter. Your love poem??Ummm…… who's side are you on here??I can get into quite enough trouble without reciting your poem to her thank you. 🙂

    Reply
  9. I just thought you might think that FD.Theres no way I am going to tell her she is incorrect.It might have taken 30 years, but I know whats right and whats wrong now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

