RSS Feed

Because you let me go

Posted on

It is almost a quarter of a century since my Mum died at age 82. She gave her solitary boy life and love and freedom. The first two were unconditional, but she never let me forget that freedom comes with responsibilities and consequences.
Here are a few words for her on Mothers Day just to let her know she’s not forgotten.

*********************************************

BECAUSE YOU LET ME GO

.
It’s Mum’s Day number sixty six,
Again I think of you.
The heroine of my childhood
Who taught me what to do.
Of course I don’t remember
My first step long ago,
I hear you held my hand one stride
But then you let me go.

There were cuts and scrapes and bruises.
Misadventures on the farm.
I crashed my bike into a tree
And almost broke my arm.
When gored by Jersey horns I said
A bad word, yes, I know.
You patched me up and told me not
To swear……… then let me go.

You watched my years of awkwardness
From youth to adulthood.
Not judging all the foolishness
Like other mothers would.
And now I’m old and thinking back
Of gifts you did bestow.
The greatest was to love, and care,
…..but then to let me go.

*******************************************

 

About GOF

"Life is like a sewer. What you get out of it, depends upon what you put into it." (Tom Lehrer)

30 responses »

  1. Reblogged this on Want to Tell a Story and commented:
    Wow … I really like that even though I don’t normally read poems but this memory … yeah, can’t find good words for what it is saying … Just felt that I have to reblog this.

    Reply
  2. Classy work you wordsmith you.

    Reply
  3. Such a heartfelt poem, GOF. Your mom sounds like one of the best. :)

    Reply
    • Thank you a2p. Like all parents she had her faults too but I admire her for raising me with a few decent principles and letting me go out into the world on my own at age 15.

      Reply
  4. Aw! Such a sweet sentiment and of all the people in the world if liked to have had around me when I was a kid, your mum would be in the inner circle! She had to be especially special to come up with you!

    Reply
    • Thanks MT. My unsociable personality might have been the reason why she didn’t want to give birth to any more children. She deserved a more friendly kid. :-)

      Reply
      • You are NOT unfriendly! I think your tolerance for non-MT BS may be low. I am social in a sense but anytime it’s about ‘what are your PLANS????!’ My answer is: sitting at home? :)

        Reply
  5. I’m sure your Mum would appreciate those heartfelt words, GOF.

    Reply
  6. Beautiful.
    And heartwarming.

    Reply
  7. Your mother sounds like a loving but sensible woman GOF. Very nice.

    Reply
  8. There’s something in my eye.

    That parenting style reminds me of someone, can’t quite put my finger on it.

    Reply
  9. A wonderful tribute,GOF. Very moving.

    I don’t know who said this, or whether you’ve heard it, before but someone once said:

    “They say you die twice. One time when you stop breathing and a second time, a bit later on, when somebody says your name for the last time.”

    Clearly your Mum is still with us in the second sense.

    Reply
    • Thank you Lance for the comment and the meaningful quotation. I was never very close to either of my parents…….it was the fashion at the time not to smother boy-children with overt displays of love, but I will always appreciate the sacrifices they made to educate me and the example they set for treating other people with respect.

      Reply
  10. Hi GOF, loved the poem. I’ll put that in the pool room. Currently in South Carolina – been here for a week and heading home Monday. Unbelievably beautiful place and the people are awesome – friendly and welcoming. Our son married a Tulsa girl a few weeks ago. Been the journey of a lifetime. Trust you and Mrs GOF are both well and doing fine at your end.

    Reply
  11. Now I finally understand where that genuine warmth comes from GOF, it’s genetic. Lovely poem (although I hope Jersey refers to goats not cattle, ouch!) and a truly perfect tribute. Excellent poetry.

    Reply
    • Thanks Emmy…..The Jersey was definitely a dairy cow….it silently approached from behind, positioned my arse between it’s horns then launched me across the paddock. More damage to my dignity than anything else.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

